FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Pam Stewart Commissioner of Education

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

GARY CHARTRAND, Chair

JOHN R. PADGET, Vice Chair

Members

ADA G. ARMAS, M.D.

JOHN A. COLÓN

MARVA JOHNSON

REBECCA FISHMAN LIPSEY

ANDY TUCK

MEMORANDUM

TO: School District Superintendents

FROM: Pam Stewart

DATE: May 9, 2014

SUBJECT: Annual Assurances of School Improvement Plans and School Advisory Council

Composition

Contact Information:

Jenna Evans 850-245-9835

Jenna.Evans@fldoe.org

DPS: 2014-56

Each school year, the Florida Department of Education collects assurances on school improvement requirements. The purpose of this memo is to request your assurance that all applicable schools in your district have approved school improvement plans and the required School Advisory Council (SAC) composition for the 2013-14 school year. In compliance with section 1008.345(6)(c), Florida Statutes (F.S.), the department shall not release funds from the Educational Enhancement Trust Fund to any district in which a school, including schools operating for the purpose of providing educational services to youth in Department of Juvenile Justice programs, does not have an approved school improvement plan (SIP), pursuant to section 1001.42(18), F.S., after one full school year of planning and development, or does not comply with SAC membership composition requirements, pursuant to section 1001.452, F.S.

To ensure your district's lottery funding is received in a timely manner, please submit this information by completing the SIP-SAC Assurances survey via the online platform located at https://www.flsiponline.com by May 30, 2014. Your district's primary school improvement contact has been assigned a user name and password for the web application. A list of primary school improvement contacts by district is attached for your convenience.

Thank you for your continued commitment to enhancing the quality of education for Florida's students.

PS/sf

cc: School District School Improvement Contacts

School District Juvenile Justice Contract Managers

School District Educational Administrators for DJJ Programs

School District Finance Officers

Linda Champion, Deputy Commissioner

Primary District School Improvement Contacts

District	Name
Alachua	Donna Jones
Baker	Susan Voorhees
Bay	Linda Pitts
Bradford	Carol Clyatt
Brevard	Janet Stephenson
Broward	Mark Quintana
Calhoun	Kay Tipton
Charlotte	Chris Dollinger
Citrus	Patrick Simon
Clay	Emily Weiskopf
Collier	Connie Helton
Columbia	Kitty McElhaney
Dade	Pamela Wentworth
Desoto	Christina Britton
Dixie	Denee Hurst
Duval	Niki Micheau
Escambia	Sandy Edwards
Flagler	Shawn Schmidli
Franklin	Sue Summers
Gadsden	Sylvia Jackson
Gilchrist	Ronda Parrish
Glades	Janet Harris
Gulf	Sara Joe Wooten
Hamilton	Tom Moffses
Hardee	Sherrie Albritton
Hendry	Jodi Bell
Hernando	Eric Williams
Highlands	Brenda Longshore
Hillsborough	Deborah Cook
Holmes	Carmen Bush
Indian River	Chris Kohlstedt
Jackson	Michael Kilts
Jefferson	Kay Collins
Lafayette	Gina Hart
Lake	Kathleen Gingras
Lee	Ashley LaMar

District	Name
Leon	Michelle Gayle
Levy	Kathy Lawrence
Liberty	Gay Lewis
Madison	Shirley Joseph
Manatee	Verdya Bradley
Marion	Anna DeWese
Martin	Mary White
Monroe	Christina McPherson
Nassau	Edward Turvey
Okaloosa	Marcus Chambers
Okeechobee	Sharon Suits
Orange	Marcie Mathews
Osceola	Sandie Davenport
Palm Beach	Dianna Weinbaum
Pasco	Suzanne St. Clair
Pinellas	Mary Beth Corace
Polk	Wilma Ferrer
Putnam	Laura France
St. Johns	Lorna Kirkham
St. Lucie	Tim Norfleet
Santa Rosa	David Johnson
Sarasota	Denise Cantalupo
Seminole	Kelly Thompson
Sumter	Nicole Wade
Suwannee	Janene Fitzpatrick
Taylor	Sharon Hathcock
Union	Linda Johns
Volusia	Kati Dyer
Wakulla	Beth O'Donnell
Walton	Nathan Smith
Washington	Gail Riley
FSDB	Scott Trejbal
FL Virtual	Tiffany Mayhugh-Rego
FAU Lab	Valerie Bristor
FAMU Lab	Patricia Hodge
UF Lab	Marisa Stukey